Black Covered Bridge
eBird Bar Charts by Season
One of the few remaining covered bridges in southwestern Ohio and the only one in Butler County on its original site, the Black (Pugh’s Mill) Covered Bridge was built in 1868 to give access to a saw and grist mill owned by James B. Pugh on Four Mile (Talawanda) Creek. Pugh’s Mill ceased to operate after two decades, and the name of the span gradually changed to Black Bridge, likely because there was a white covered bridge located downstream. The Black Covered Bridge is recognized as one of the longest and most impressive of Ohio’s covered bridges. It is unique for its combination of two truss types – Childs and Long – within a single structure. The bridge was restored in 2000 through the efforts of the Oxford Museum Association, the Butler County Commissioners and the Butler County Engineer’s Office. A State of Ohio Bicentennial Historical Marker has been placed at the site.
The parking area at the Black Covered Bridge is a trailhead for the Oxford Area Trail System. The Black Covered Bridge Connector Trail is paved for 1 mile. The next 1.5 mile to OH-73 is coal cinders, scheduled to be paved by 2022, then there is another 1.5 mile paved connecting to Peffer Park at US-27.
From Black Covered Bridge webpage
There are no restrooms at this trailhead, but portable toilets may be found at the Bonham Road trailhead 1 mile southeast and the OH-73 crossing 2.5 miles southeast.
The Black Covered Bridge Connector Trail is handicap accessible.